WU, BT, STTN, OT, UT – it’s all about sleep!

Now that I’m a mom, I am completely, unabashedly obsessed with sleep. Daytime sleep, night-time sleep, all of it. The internets are an amazing place for finding information about anything, as long as you can follow the acronyms. LOL! I used to have no idea what anyone was talking about and now I can talk in baby jargon with the best of them.

  • WU = wake up time
  • BT = bed time
  • STTN = sleep through the night (which by the way is a loaded phrase but I’ll talk about that another time)
  • OT = Overtired
  • UT = Undertired
  • LO = Little one
  • DH = Dear husband
  • BTDT = Been there done that
  • EBF = Exclusively breast feeding
  • EBP = Exclusively pumping
  • EFF = Exclusively formula feeding
  • LOL = laugh out loud

and the list goes on.

I’ve read Babywise; Secrets of the Baby Whisperer; The Ferber Method; Healthy Sleep Habits, Healthy Babies; the Sleep Lady Shuffle and you know what? They mostly contradict each other; they’re pretty confusing; and they’re all written as if every word is complete medical fact.

As a longtime lover of sleep (I used to be sad if I got any less than 10 hours a night, yeah, you read that right!), I have been completely and utterly CONFUSED by reading all these expert opinions and hearing opinions from people who have been there and done that. So, I’m not about to tell you what to do. I just want you to know that 1) it’s hard, don’t let them fool you into thinking this is easy stuff to figure out and “get right” 2)  Most babies do not sleep through the night at 6 months, I don’t care who you talk to or what books you’ve read 3) it’s probably normal, whatever you’re dealing with in the sleep issues department, I think it’s where the term “growing pains” should have originated from 4) read alot or ask questions or do your own thing, but in the end every parent, child and situation is different, so trust your intuition!

That being said, I’m always on the lookout for good resources and tips, so I’m going to use this blog to post about them My first interesting find is this sleep chart. Bailey is 6 months old tomorrow and this chart is just starting to be relevant/make sense to us 🙂

And just to report, today we’re in a really good place when it comes to sleep. I’ve obviously lowered my standards and understand that 10 hours of uninterrupted sleep preferably from 11pm – 9am is likely out of the question. I am however, inordinately happy that my son currently does the following: 1) sleeps in his own floor bed and 2) goes to sleep on his own each night. I’m also pretty pleased that in the last few days, his pattern has been to go to bed around 6:45pm, wake up once a night to eat (anytime between 2-4am), promptly go back to sleep and then wake up for the day between 6:30 and 7:30. We’re having a good week so far.

Back when Bailey could sleep anywhere!

And I can’t believe that I essentially never sleep past 7am these days. A small part of me is in constant mourning for the sleep I used to have, but in return I have one happy, super cool baby and I guess I could start going to bed at 7pm to match my nights more to my LO’s nights… maybe not.

Leave a Reply

