Makin’ baby food

Around labor day weekend, Bailey began to show a strong interest in food. I would sit in a restaurant holding him in my lap and suddenly he would dive bomb for my food or my glass. He would watch Lee bring his glass or food to his mouth and practically lick his lips. The first time, we brought a glass to Bailey’s mouth, he grabbed with both hands and started trying to slurp water out of the glass. He’s still hasn’t figured out that you need to tilt the glass to get to the liquid but hey, he’s working on it!

Image

That weekend, we were on our way to Aspen for the long weekend. I quickly mashed up a little avocado and put it on a spoon to see what would happen. Bailey gobbled it right up.

Now, a month later, we are feeding him solids twice a day. I’ve decided to play around with making my own baby food since I can’t bring myself to actually taste jarred baby food and I would really like Bailey to end up eating what we eat!

So far, we have tried sweet potato, acorn squash, avocado, pears, apples, zucchini, baby greens, rice cereal, oatmeal cereal and gosh, he just tried carrots and turkey (that last one was from a jar). I guess, we’ve tried alot now that I’ve written it down, and he has loved it all.

 

My fav recipes so far:

Sweet potatoes and pears

  1. Bake one sweet potato (in foil in the toaster oven at 400 for 45 min or til soft)
  2. Steam one pear with a tiny piece of fresh ginger and some cinnamon (about 4 min)
  3. Scoop sweet potato out of its skin and puree with the pear, ginger and some water.
  4. If it is too watery, add rice cereal to thicken

I think that makes about 12 servings so about 6 days worth. You’re only supposed to refrigerate the food for up to 3 days. I bought BPA free icecube trays with lids and I fill the tray up and then freeze it. He gets 2-3 icecubes per meal (that I of course defrost and serve warm or room temperature).

Baby Greens, Zucchini and Sweet Potato

  1. Bake one sweet potato
  2. Peel, slice and steam one zucchini with dried dill (about 5 min)
  3. Steam a large handful of baby greens (I use SuperGreens, it takes just a couple minutes for the greens to soften and wilt)
  4. Scoop out sweet potato and add the other veggies to the blender and puree (add water as needed)
  5. If you want to thicken it, add oatmeal cereal

Random factoid – rice cereal can constipate, oatmeal cereal can do the opposite. I choose my cereal depending on what the other vegetables are. Pears are great for digestion so I add rice to slow things down. The other recipe might be normal to slightly harder to digest, so I add oatmeal since baby’s body is still learning how to process solids. Cereals are good to add because they are iron fortified.

Favorite gadgets for meal time:

  • Silicon spoons – got mine as a gift from my friend Annie
  • Bailey’s Fisher Price high chair space saver  – a gift from Aunt Judy (it has an infant setting for before they can sit up really well, plus it can change into a booster seat when they’re older)
  • Waterproof bibs (the cloth kind get so filthy – you basically have to go through one a meal- boo. This one you can just wipe off and reuse – yay!)
  • A regular blender (like for smoothies) – for pureeing the food

And I’m still breastfeeding/doing bottles like normal – the food is just on top of the liquid diet to get Bailey to have even more calories and to play with food. So far, making my own baby food has been pretty darn easy, you might want to give it a try too!

xoxo LG

Leave a Reply

