Potsticker burgers

Potsticker burgers
Potsticker burgers

Ok, I’m still working on the title of this recipe but OMG it is soooo delicious!! So, I’m on this pseudo paleo sort of diet for the month of April. It mostly means that I’m trying to avoid refined sugar, starches, alcohol, legumes and dairy – which really means I’m mostly trying to avoid sugar since I dislike legumes and I’m already gluten free and generally dairy free and alcohol free. Anyway, I also try to make ground meat recipes so I can break the cooked meat apart for little B to eat.  Not to mention, I can always sneak in bits of greens for both of the boys when I make ground meat meals!

I’ve done a lot of beef lately and so I decided to branch out to ground chicken thighs –  after some recipe exploration courtesy of google, I was immediately sold on the “tastes like the inside of a delicious Chinese dumping” comment for this recipe. I haven’t had potstickers in almost three years. Sigh! Here is my modified version of deliciousness:

Potsticker Burgers (aka Asian Chicken Burgers) – makes 4

  • 1 lb. ground chicken
  • 2 tbsp. dark soy sauce (tamari)
  • 1 1/2 tsp roasted sesame oil
  • 1 tbsp. white wine
  • 1 tsp of rice vinegar
  • 1/4 c. gf breadcrumbs (or panko crumbs if you’re not gf) – you could probably omit this if you had a little more meat otherwise, it’s too wet
  • 1 inch fresh ginger, grated
  • 2 handfuls of finely chopped baby spinach
  • 1 handful of finely chopped fresh basil

Combine all ingredients lightly.  If the mixture is very wet, add more panko.  Shape into four patties, and cook in a large skillet for about 5 minutes on each side.

On a side note: I decided to bake a package of bacon per a paleo suggestion…. I did not know you could overcook bacon quite that much. hmm. oh well.

Leave a Reply

