One month of Crossfit under my belt!

nav_logoSome of you may or may not know that I signed up at CrossfitSanitas for the month of April to jumpstart my somewhat plateaued baby weight-loss. I’ve officially completed a month of doing crossfit 3 times a week. and I have more energy; plus I’ve lost weight and inches! Yay!

I started with their 8 class foundations/basecamp course where we learned technique on the more commonly used crossfit moves – push ups, squats, clean and jerks, etc. And, it turns out that Crossfit really works for me. The workout is always under an hour – love the efficiency! It’s high intensity and works your whole body plus there is a real focus on mobility which is especially useful for us desk laborers.

Typically, you have a 15 minute warm-up which gets your heart rate plus warms up the various joints you will be using for the WOD (workout of the day). Next, they spend some time having us break the moves for the WOD to get technique perfect and to figure out how much weight to use. Finally, we do a high intensity workout that can take anywhere from 5 to 20 minutes.

Day One!
Day One!

The moves are based on Olympic lifting and gymnastics. It’s a coach-led class and all the moves are scalable so you can work at your own pace and level. I suckered my dad into joining with me and he’s seen improved core strength, balance, mobility, energy and endurance from what I can tell. Here’s a sampling of some of the moves we’ve done  modified pull-ups, push ups, hand-stand push-ups (modified!); squats, clean and jerks, push and jerks, running, rowing, and the list goes on.

I also decided to follow a mostly paleo diet for the month of April which for me meant mostly avoiding dairy, gluten, grains and sugars. Not everyone responds well to a paleo diet, but I felt so much better on it! So, lots of eggs, meats, veggies, fruits and nuts. I did have the occasional cambric with soy milk and honey, and on one particular date night we shared a molten flourless chocolate cake with marscapone gelato – which was amazing!!

So here are my weight-loss stats at the end of month 1:

  • Neck: -0 inches
  • Chest: – 1.5 inches
  • Arm: – .5 inches
  • Waist: – 1.5 inches
  • Hips: – 1 inch
  • Thigh: -0 inches
  • Weight: – 7 lbs

My challenge for May is to continue Crossfit but to also do a fat-burning/detox/elimination diet with a local naturopath for 5 weeks! It’s very similar to paleo but I get to learn all about portion control and ratios of carbs to protein for optimal fat loss. I’m a little nervous, okay very nervous, so I hope I can get through it! Supposedly I’m not supposed to feel hungry or have a loss of energy. The challenge will be to take the time to measure and prepare foods which sound exhausting to this working, exercising mommy, but I’ll give it my best shot.

p.s. I love my crossfit gym! the coaches are so supportive and helpful. Boulderites please check it out!

2 thoughts on “One month of Crossfit under my belt!

Leave a Reply

