Week 1: on the Ultralite program

Breakfast of champions - eggs, ham and kale
Breakfast of champions – eggs, ham and kale

As noted in my last post, I’ve begun a weight loss challenge for the month of May. I’m working with a trained practitioner and focusing on a very clean, allergen free diet while experimenting with carb/protein ratios to maximize fat burning. Translation: I have to eat veggies and meat and I have to weigh everything to better understand portion sizes. Boo! It’s a lot of work, but it’s not as hard as I thought it would be.

As noted in my last post, I’ve begun a weight loss challenge for the month of May. I’m working with a trained practitioner and focusing on a very clean, allergen free diet while experimenting with carb/protein ratios to maximize fat burning. Translation: I eat veggies and meat and I have to weigh everything to better understand portion sizes. Boo! It’s a lot of work, but it’s not as hard as I thought it would be, though Lee is pretty much on his own for meals since I’m carefully counting out all my grams of food each meal.

What are my stats so far? I just met with Dr. Skye-Goldin this morning for my one week check-in. Here’s what has changed in one week:

  • neck: -0 inches lost
  • chest: -1 inch
  • arms: -0 inches lost
  • waist: -1.5 inches
  • hips: -1.5 inches
  • thigh: -1 inch
  • weight: 3 lbs lost

How’s being on a portion controlled, foods restricted diet?? Because I was already eating pretty cleanly during my crossfit paleo month, the transition has been pretty painless. I eat three meals and then drink 4 small protein/vitamin drinks throughout the day. So far my meals have consisted of various combinations of the following:

  • grilled chicken breast
  • beef
  • beef, chicken or pork burgers (lean)
  • lean ham
  • tuna fish
  • eggs
  • chard
  • spinach
  • arugula
  • kale
  • broccoli
  • cauliflower
  • tomatoes
  • carrots
  • sugar snap peas
  • pickles and cucumbers
  • onions and garlic

Puh-retty darn healthy if you ask me! While I do contemplate all the things I shall eat in 5 weeks when this is over, I don’t have any overwhelming cravings.Plus, I’m still doing crossfit 3-4 times a week and I have good energy.

Did I go through a cranky detox period? I did have a brief three day spiral into congested angry-at-the-world-ness (sorry Lee!) but it turned out that it wasn’t a detox period at all. It was completely tied to taking the whey protein powder instead of the non-dairy stuff. It tasted so much better but man did it make me super moody and mad at the world. As soon as I stopped taking it, everything in me evened out again. How weird?! Note to self: Your body REALLY doesn’t do well with dairy!

General note: you can eat seafood on this diet, I just hate seafood. And here are the deets on the Ultralite program for those who are interested or just plain skeptical 😛

Martha’s vineyard, I’m gonna be so ready for you in July!!

2 thoughts on “Week 1: on the Ultralite program

    1. Hi Tracey, the follow up plan is to essentially follow the same diet in terms of types of foods you eat, only you don’t worry about portion size. You are also allowed to incorporate 1-2 starchy “treats” a day – so a piece of toast, or a piece of pie or a sweet potato – I know, I know, those don’t all sound equal in terms of “treat” but they all fall under the category of more starchy carbs. If you follow this maintenance plan, your weight should plateau and if the numbers start creeping up on the scale, you just go back to the hard core plan for a few weeks to drop the weight again.

Leave a Reply

